Internet Hall of Fame. These are the new members

Internet Hall of Fame

Nomination ceremony for new members of the Internet Hall of Fame.

The Internet Hall of Fame® is a virtual museum and recognition program which celebrate the living history of the internet and from the people whose extraordinary contributions have made the Internet possible, its availability and use around the world, and its transformative nature.
It was founded in 2012 by the Internet Society. The first members were announced on April 23, 2012 at the entity's Global INET conference. The conference was held in Geneva, Switzerland.

What is the Internet Hall of Fame?

Andrew Sullivan, CEO of the Internet Society, explains the goals of the Internet Hall of Fame:

The evolution of the Internet is a story of many, many contributions. Each of the individuals in the Internet Hall of Fame made a significant contribution to that story. The Internet Society wants to make sure these stories are told and preserved.

The nomination process

The entity invites internet enthusiasts worldwide to propose to your candidates . Nomination requests are reviewed and vetted to ensure they meet the nomination and eligibility criteria. The Internet Hall of Fame Advisory Board, comprised of a select group of former entrants, is responsible for the final selection of entrants.

The nominees of the 2019 edition

This year they were inducted into the Internet Hall of Fame eleven people from six countries around the world, including Peru, Japan, Brazil, the Netherlands, Togo and the United States. All are recognized for their pioneering and visionary contributions to the global growth, access and security of the Internet. In addition, it is noted that they have expanded the reach of the Internet to new regions and communities, have helped foster a greater understanding of how the Internet works, and have improved security to increase user confidence in the network.

Remember Andrew Sullivan? At the entrance ceremony, held in San José, Costa Rica, the executive director of the Internet Society said:

“The design of the Internet has always allowed people to see a problem and go to work to solve it.

This year's nominees have given us all the great gift of their creative approaches to the issues they discussed about the Internet. We can draw inspiration from them to face the next round of challenges.

These are the new members:

Adiel Akplogan (Africa): He advanced the Internet in Africa and served as the founding Executive Director of the Regional Internet Registry for Africa.

Kimberly Claffy (United States): It was a pioneer in the field of data collection, measurement and analysis on the Internet.

Douglas Comer (United States): He wrote the first series of quality textbooks explaining the scientific principles of Internet design and communication protocols.

Elise Gerich (United States): He was instrumental in the transition from NSFNET to today's Internet and in the transition of the functions of the Internet Assigned Numbers Authority from the US government administration to a multi-stakeholder community.

Larry Irving (United States): He was one of the promoters of the identification of the Digital Divide in the United States, motivating global interest in the subject.

Dan Lynch (United States): He advocated for the adoption of TCP / IP protocols and played a key role in driving the Internet toward a commercial network.

Jean Armor Polly (United States): It pioneered free Internet access in public libraries.

José Soriano (Peru): He was one of the leaders in bringing the Internet to Peru and designed a replicable "public Internet" model.

Michael Stanton (Brazil): He was instrumental in bringing the Internet to Brazil, and continues to participate in the design and deployment of scalable optical networks in South America and around the world.

Klaas Wierenga (Netherlands): He invented eduroam, an international Wi-Fi roaming service for academic and research communities in more than 100 countries.

Suguru Yamaguchi (Japan):  was a pioneer in cybersecurity research and a world leader in its deployment; and founded the Asia Pacific Broadband Internet Research Project and the Satellite Education Network Project.

This year is the first time the ceremony has been held in Latin America. The choice of Costa Rica as the venue for the event because the organizers consider it a good example of how to employ a collaborative approach to Internet governance and the taking of systematic measures to close the digital divide in the country.

The content of the article adheres to our principles of editorial ethics. To report an error click here.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *



  1. Responsible for the data: AB Internet Networks 2008 SL
  2. Purpose of the data: Control SPAM, comment management.
  3. Legitimation: Your consent
  4. Communication of the data: The data will not be communicated to third parties except by legal obligation.
  5. Data storage: Database hosted by Occentus Networks (EU)
  6. Rights: At any time you can limit, recover and delete your information.