Sam Hartman for «president»: Not only Spain and Europe have elections ... Debian too

Deiban 3D Logo

Debian is one of the largest projects in the community, It is not only a GNU / Linux distribution, it goes much further. We have already commented on other occasions that you can also use Debian with other kernels, such as kFreeBSD, Hurd, etc. And such a macro project also needs a hierarchy and a structure in order to function properly. And at the top of the hierarchy is the leader.

The Debian Leader Has Been Changing since Ian Murdock, who is no longer with us, founded it. There have already been several leaders in Debian, and with the election of DPL 2019 (Debian Project Leader), now we have met a new one. So, for your information, the "boss" of the project will be Sam Hartman, who came out as the winner. He began to practice as such from April 21 of this year and will do so until April 20, 2020, when another guide will be voted on.

Specifically, Sam Hartman is the 17th leader of the Debian project. After Ian Murdock, first leader and founder of the project, followed by Bruce Perens (another big name known in the community), Ian Jackson, Wichert Akkerman, Ben Collins, Bdlae Garbee, Martin Michlmayr, Branden Robinson, Anthony Towns, Sam Hocevar, Steve McIntyre, Stefano Zacchiroli, Lucas Nussbaum, Neil McGovern, Mehdi Dogguy, and Chris Lamb, in that order.

From LxA we give you congratulations to Sam Hartman for the new position and I hope it will be a productive new era as it has been, with as many good things as the Debian Project has brought us so far. By the way, if you want more details, you should know that there are a total of 1003 developers involved in the project, 378 of them have voted using the Condorcet method and the specific result of votes is in the official Debian page.

By the way, don't confuse him with the football player with the same name ... and he's not Greg's family either;) hahaha

The content of the article adheres to our principles of editorial ethics. To report an error click here!.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.



  1. Responsible for the data: AB Internet Networks 2008 SL
  2. Purpose of the data: Control SPAM, comment management.
  3. Legitimation: Your consent
  4. Communication of the data: The data will not be communicated to third parties except by legal obligation.
  5. Data storage: Database hosted by Occentus Networks (EU)
  6. Rights: At any time you can limit, recover and delete your information.